Wednesday, December 29

Penguin Facts

Happy Wednesday!! 

May your day be Wonderful!

Do you like penguins? Today, Joey wants to tell you about penguins! Joey and Jinger love penguins!  A penguin is an aquatic flightless seabird. Did you know that penguins love to swim? Yep, they love the water! Penguins do almost everything in groups including swimming together! Penguins are very social and intelligent creatures. A group of penguins are very noisy and chaotic looking when they are all together. A group of penguins that are swimming in the water together is called a raft. They eat, hunt, swim, and even nest together. They huddle together when it gets really cold so they can stay warm. If you ever see penguins do not ever approach them. Just watch them waddle and play from a safe distance! Never approach any wild animal.


Have you ever seen a group of penguins?


Facts about penguins:

1. Even though penguins have wings they can’t fly through the air but they are great swimmers! Penguins fly through the water not the air!! Penguins can swim 4 times faster than humans can. They can stay underwater up to 27 minutes.

2. There are 18 different species of penguins. Here is a list of the 18 species of penguins in alphabetical order:

Adelie Penguin

African Penguin

Chinstrap Penguin

Emperor Penguin – the largest species of penguin.

Erect-crested Penguin

Fiordland Penguin

Galapagos Penguin

Gentoo Penguin – fastest penguin in the water.

Humboldt Penguin

King Penguin

Little Penguin – the smallest species of penguin.

Macaroni Penguin

Magellanic Penguin

Northern Rockhopper Penguin

Royal Penguin 14

Snares Penguin

Southern Rockhopper Penguin

Yellow-eyed Penguin

3. A group of penguins on land is called a waddle, tuxedo, or a colony. A group of penguins in the water is called a raft!

4. Baby penguins are called chicks or nestlings. Baby penguins are grey and white in color until they reach adulthood.  Their black and white feather coloring starts coming in when they are about one year old. Adult penguins shed their feathers once a year in a process called Catastrophic molt. During the molting the penguin’s old feathers are pushed out so new ones can grow back in.

5. Penguins are carnivores! They only eat meat. Their diet consists of fish, squid, and tiny crustaceans.

6. Penguins originate from only the Southern Hemsphere. Depending on the type of penguin they can be found living in Antarctica, Australia, Argentina, Falkland Islands, Galapagos Islands, Tristan da Cunha, New Zealand, and various other places in the Southern Hemisphere!!


Books about penguins:

1. Penguins: Amazing Pictures & Fun Facts by Kay de Silva

2. If You Were a Penguin by Florence Minor

3. All About Penguins: by Dyan deNapoli

4. Peanut the Penguin by Aruna Lepore

Parents make sure books are child friendly before reading them to your child/children.


I have written 4 children’s books so far. My 15-year-old daughter illustrated two of them and will illustrate all the rest of them in the series. Two of them are available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Target, Walmart, and Books A Million. 




4. JOEY SAVES THE DAY! LOST AT THE ZOO coming in 2022!!


Thank you for reading my post!


Check out my printable coloring pages and worksheets! Thanksgiving and Christmas coloring sheets now available!

Join my Joey Saves The Day group on Facebook for giveaways, learning, and fun

Follow me on Instagram

Like and follow my author page

No comments:

Post a Comment

Facts about Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Who is ready to learn some quick facts about a famous poet? Each Thursday for the next fifty weeks I will be blogging about a famous poet....